20151109_221641Here it is. The project that I have been working on for almost a year. There were still a few spots that needed some attention when I took this picture, but I filled those in. All that is left is the highlighting and the outlining. I worked on it yesterday a bit while Scott watched football. I have decided that I am not much a fan of the outlining. I asked him if he could see what I had done. “Things are popping,” he said. I guess that means I have to highlight it. I am hoping to have it finished in the next week or two because I would love to have it on the wall for Christmas.

Last week we spent most of the week playing catch up. We had a lot of ground to cover after the debate tournament. I think we have caught up. He wrote a pretty good essay on the theme of hospitality in the Odyssey. Homeschool cheater mom alert. I looked at Cliff Notes to find out what the themes were. Then did a bit of research on the topic. I did not read The Odyssey with him because…boring. He liked it, and thanks to the maker of Cliff Notes for making me look like I know what I am talking about. I am not sure what we are going to read next. If life was fair, I would make him read The Illiad next because the other kids had to do it. I don’t know. I will think on it. He is reading The Martian right now. Have you read it? He read the first sentence and came to me and said, “uh, Mom? Are you sure you want me reading this?” I laughed. The language is not exactly G rated. Oh, well. It isn’t like it isn’t anything he has heard from his friends. He couldn’t deny that. Plus, he isn’t a reader. There is a good mix of science and interesting stuff in that book to keep a 14-year-old, non-reader engaged.

Speaking of reading, I am reading “Longbourn”. It is basically a Pride and Prejudice fan fiction. I like it so far. I had to take a break from the epic fantasy I was reading. You can follow me on Goodreads. I love that website.

What else? Oh! Oh! My sister is coming to visit. I am so excited to see her! We have not been together since my mom died. We are going to have a girls’ weekend, and it will be fabulous. We chose a hotel that mom would have liked. It is pretty fancy and ornate. We were a little sad that we couldn’t tell her about it, but then we remembered she is living in fancy and ornate right now. It is all good. We will just think of her while we are there. We will be eating good food and will be “making a memory” (as mom used to say).

I also have a friend who will be helping me with the design of this blog. I am going to start working on my Chemistry helps again, and she is going to help me make this place look more attractive. I am excited about that.

I suppose I should get to my Greek. Someone remind me why I agreed to Greek. Next year he is getting an online class. My brain can’t take this anymore. Ah, who am I kidding? I am too cheap. I will just suck it up and do it. A little part of me likes it, but I wish that it wasn’t so hard. I will just remember what my piano teacher used to tell me. “If it was easy, everyone would do it.”  You know, I still don’t really know how that helps.

Have a great week! Happy homeschooling!

