I think I am back. It has been a crazy month. My husband retired from the Navy. Want to see a picture?

DSC_0828

It was an amazing day. We were riding a wave of joy. Many old friends and family came in for this day. It was wonderful to see them all. We were overcome with the kindness of everyone. The ceremony was beautiful. I didn’t cry, but I wanted to. He spoke of my mother, he honored my father, and he made me feel special. It was a magnificent day.

We rode that wave for about a week, and reality hit us in the face. My husband still didn’t have a job. We didn’t know where we were going to live. We didn’t know much of anything. And everyone wanted to know!

Well, in God’s timing it all seems to have worked out. I know that some are disappointed in how it worked out. It was difficult for me too, but over the long run I think it will be a good thing for us.

My husband found a job. Or rather, the job found him. He received call from an office that found his profile on a website. It worked out. After sending out over a hundred (probably more) resumes, the job he has is one he didn’t even apply for. Talk about God dropping a job in your lap.

We bought a house. It is all in the stages of working out. We aren’t in it yet. I am still praying that it all works out because I love it so much. I will post pictures at closing. Maybe.

We sent our oldest two off to college. It involved a long, very long, drive. It was difficult to say good-bye to my daughter. We won’t see them until Christmas, and Christmas seems so far away. I miss her already. She is very good about communicating with me. The difference between son and daughter is amazing but not surprising. We girls do like to talk.

I am working on a series of essays about homeschooling. It is good therapy for me, and it helps me keep perspective as I plod through my last few years.

Now that we have started our school year, I will be blogging more again. Well, that is my plan. We have passed our fork in the road and have chosen a direction. What is this way is anyone’s guess. It is a little unnerving, but exciting. It is like walking a trail in a forest. Some of it is easy and beautiful, but you can’t always see in front of you.

PA300028

Some of it is uphill and difficult, but you keep going because you know the view at the top will be amazing.

DSC_1845

