So things are getting a little hairy at my house. We are just about one week from the retirement ceremony. One week. I will have family descending upon my house. I am looking forward to that, but the stress of feeding them all has me a little on edge.

Let’s add to that, shall we? My husband still does not have a job lined up. This is not for lack of trying. The poor guy spends all morning, every morning applying for work. It is emotionally draining. At first I was all “I am not moving there. No way.” or “Really? You think that location would be a good idea?”. Now I am all “Sure. North Dakota? Sounds great!”.  I have compared my husband’s job seeking skills to something of firing snake shot from a revolver. Have you seen that done?

And no offense to my friends who have said this to me, but if I have to hear one more time that such and such a company loves to hire military, I am going to lose it. They may love to hire military for certain things, but my husband must not meet those certain things.

My husband went to a job fair on the post here. He had one company say that his resume looked great. They wanted to know if he had a Microsoft Office certificate. No, he told them, but he teaches Microsoft Office and is an expert. Oh, no. Not good enough. You have to have the flippen certificate. Seriously. What the heck is with all the dumb certificates out there? So, if one more person tells me that no one cares about the certifications, I may blow steam out of the top of my head.

So anyway, that is where we are.

We have no idea where we are going to be living in oh, about 7 weeks. In 7 weeks we must move, but to where? God is the only one who knows, and He isn’t sharing yet. And in those 7 weeks, we have to get our kids to college 18 hours away. Don’t get me wrong, I am so excited for them. But man, it seems that I am just living in the perfect trifecta of the unknowable right now. In fact, it seems that I have been spending an abnormal amount of time there the past 3 years. If God is trying to teach me something, I must be a slow learner.

I am sitting here trying to think of a positive thing to share because I want to end on a positive note. Well, I spoke with an old friend last night. One that I haven’t spoken to in years. We lived in Singapore together twenty years ago, and we were good friends. My husband worked for her husband. It was lovely to speak with her. She said a couple of things that resonated with me. Her husband has been retired for awhile, and they have lived in one place for 15 years. She said the best part is the continuity of her life now and the relationships that she has been able to build in those 15 years. THAT is what I am looking forward to. Continuity. I have friends literally all over the globe. Some friends I will never seen again this side of heaven, but they are there. My best friends (and you know who you are) live in different states. It really stinks. I miss them so much.

The other thing that she said was that every person’s psyche only has so many moves in them, and you don’t know how many until you have done one too many. This made me laugh because it is SO true. She was always wise. I will be seeing her in a month, and I am looking forward to it.

That is what is going on here. The days are hot and long. I am stress eating, and I think I may have put on a few. I am not getting on the scale. In what universe would THAT be a good idea? I am exercising too, but if I were to judge by how my clothes feel on me, I would guess that I am not exercising quite enough. But hey, let’s pop a bunch of popcorn and worry about that another day!

