Tags

,

I wasn’t sure if I was going to continue with my Hymn of the Week series, but how can I stop when we get to Easter? There are some great hymns out there. Most of them I sing very poorly, but they are filled with Alleluia’s and wonderful message of life and resurrection.

Just a little liturgical note. The Easter hymns are filled with Alleluia’s because for the past 6 weeks the church has refrained from singing them. It is tradition to leave out the Alleluia’s during the season of Lent. What is more magnificent than singing them loud and frequently on Easter Sunday after we have been quiet? I will tell you that it is a wonderful sight when the church is full of flowers and Alleluia’s flow from the mouths of all. Maybe a small foretaste of heaven when we will gather around the throne of the Lamb singing praises? I would like to believe so.

The hymn that I have picked this week is a pretty tough hymn to sing, but it is full of praise and Alleluia’s. In my opinion, it is a true praise song.

I have chosen “Jesus Christ is Risen Today, Alleluia!” My hymnal tells me that it is a 14th century Latin hymn. And to think that people like to tell us that praise music is a new fangled idea. I beg to differ.

 

Angel at the Tomb of Jesus Matthew 28:1-3Jesus Christ is Risen Today, Alleluia!

Jesus Christ is risen today, Alleluia!
Our triumphant holy day, Alleluia!
Who did once, upon the cross, Alleluia!
Suffer to redeem our loss, Alleluia!

Hymns of praise then let us sing, Alleluia!
Unto Christ, our heavenly King, Alleluia!
Who endured the cross and grave, Alleluia!
Sinners to redeem and save, Alleluia!

But the pains which He endured, Alleluia!
Our salvation hath procured, Alleluia!
Now above the sky He’s king, Alleluia!
Where the angels ever sing, Alleluia!

Sing we to our God above, Alleluia!
Praise eternal as His love, Alleluia!
Praise Him, all you heavenly host, Alleluia!
Father, Son, and Holy Ghost, Alleluia!

He is not here: for He has risen, as He said. Matthew 28:6

