DSC_0104

Mostly I have family news today.

My cat, Toby, is still sick. I am very upset about this. He is having trouble with his sinuses and is having trouble breathing. After an early morning vet run (AGAIN), we are going to try 6 weeks of antibiotics and prednisone. The antibiotics cost me $80. I hope they kick in quickly. It is distressing to listen to the labored breathing of my special kitty.

DSC_0630

Freckle Face is going to be 14 soon. I don’t know when it happened exactly, but someone flipped the teenager switch on him. Oh, he is all sweet freckly and dimply cuteness, but occasionally the teenager slips out and makes me want to run away or to send him to military school. Either one would be acceptable.

I have been telling everyone that I had decided to continue homeschooling Freckle Face through high school, but after last night I am not so sure. He really needs to be around people. He does not want to go to school, but I don’t know if I can handle 4 more years of incessant talking and boredom. He and I talked about different activities that he could be involved in such as CAP, speech and debate, or maybe drama. The trouble is that I have to do it all. I don’t want to do it anymore. I want to send him off to school and let him choose what he wants to do. At school, every activity he could want is there. For free. Unfortunately, I also know what kinds of activities and curriculum he would get. For free. This is my great conundrum.

I will leave you with one link. It is a part of my favorite series, Redeeming Holy Days from Pagan Lies. His article this week discusses the roots of the Easter Egg.  He also has another one about Easter.  I know that many Christian churches have changed their Easter Sunday celebrations to Resurrection Sunday because they feel that Easter has pagan roots. Pastor Abrahamson has done extensive research into the traditions of our holy days and debunks so much of the garbage that you hear in the media. All of his articles are very good.

I think we are going to take a mini spring break. I think it will be good for all of us.

