My mom would have been 65 years old today. Last year we had a small celebration with her. We wished her a happy birthday when she woke up in the morning, but she didn’t believe that it was her birthday.

“You guys are tricking me!” She said.

“No, seriously, Mom, it is really your birthday,” we tried to convince her.

She would have none of it. The cancer was already causing some problems with her thinking. She would get confused easily, so we let the birthday celebration go for awhile.

Then my sister arrived. She had a big balloon for Mom. Mom took one look at the balloon, put her hands over her mouth and said, “It IS my birthday!”

I am so glad that my sister was on her game that day. I hadn’t thought to do anything real special for Mom, but my sister even brought a little cake in for her.

I cherish the memory.

We took pictures with Mom. They are my last pictures that I have of me and Mom.

IMG_0312.JPG

IMG_0316.JPG

Happy birthday, Mom. I know the celebration that you are having today is amazing. I look forward to celebrating with you again someday. I miss you.

