This past Sunday was the first Sunday in Lent. This should be the time of year where we get to sing a lot of beautiful hymns, but it was not to be this Sunday. On Monday, when we were sitting down for our morning devotion, my daughter commented that she was sad that we didn’t sing any Lenten hymns at church. This made my heart happy. Not because she was sad, but because my children love the hymns as much as I do. So for all the people that say “but the younger generation wants new music!”, I present to them my children. You don’t have to make the hymns new and improved, you just have to expose people to them. After awhile, the beauty is apparent. My daughter is a big fan of all popular music. She loves One Direction, 5 Seconds of Summer, and whoever else is a big name. However, she doesn’t need her music at church to resemble the music she listens to in the car.

This morning I asked her to name her favorite Lenten hymn. She didn’t even have to think about it. She said, “Jesus, I will Ponder Now.” Today I will share a few verses from that hymn. It was written by Sigismund Birken in 1653.

jesus on the cross

Jesus, I Will Ponder Now

1.Jesus, I will ponder now
on thy holy Passion;
With Thy Spirit me endow
For such meditation
Grant that I in love and faith
May thy image cherish
Of Thy suffering, pain, and death
That I may not perish.

3. Yet, O Lord, not thus alone
Make me see Thy Passion,
But its cause to me make known
And its termination.
Ah! I also and my sin
Wrought Thy deep affliction;
This indeed the cause hath been
Of Thy crucifixion.

5.If my sins give me alarm
And my conscience grieve me,
Let Thy cross my fear disarm,
Peace of conscience give me.
Grant that I may trust in Thee
And Thy holy Passion.
If His Son so loveth me,
God must have compassion.

6. Grant that I may willingly
Bear with Thee my crosses,
Learning humbleness of Thee,
Peace mid pain and losses.
May I give Thee love for love!
Hear me, O my Savior,
That I may in heaven above
Sing Thy praise forever.

