Random-Monday-Main-Final1

I am late getting this out today. I have had a few things to do this morning, so I wasn’t sitting at the table while my son did his math. I am here now. In body at least.

My son is working through the Apologia Physical Science book. I forgot how much that I disliked physics. No, I didn’t forget. I blocked it from my mind. On purpose. It frustrates me because I have trouble visualizing the concepts. It doesn’t help that my son wants to animate every concept, and then he wants to question it over and over again. This sends my brain over the cliff. I want to be that supportive homeschooling mother that allows him to follow his curiosity, but it hurts. It hurts so much.  So instead I throw my hands up in the air, and say, “I don’t know! Save it for your professors.” Yes, these are not my proudest moments. Thank goodness I can do the math. That is my one saving grace.

I was able to talk to my oldest son yesterday over Skype for the first time in awhile. He looks good. It is fun to talk to him. I guess he is doing well in school. I don’t ask anymore because it stresses me out. We were talking about the weather, and I was complaining because it had been so cold here. “Mom,” he says., “It is 1 degree outside right now.” I laughed. “I thought you wanted to live there forever,” I teased him. “I do, but I can still complain that it is a frozen hell,” he said. “Well, maybe your dad and I will move there so it will be better,” I told him. “uhh..well, then I will just be cold….and miserable (whispered under his breath)” he teased. “NOT FUNNY! I HEARD that!” I hollered. He laughed and laughed. I don’t think it was as funny as he thought it was. It is fine. I don’t want to live in the tundra anyway, but see if he gets any more packages. I will show him!

My husband bribed me over the weekend. He promised to take me antiquing and to buy me a piece of vintage jewelry if I let him stay home and watch the Daytona 500 on Sunday. Never above a bribe, I said that it would be fine. So, we drove 90 minutes to an antique store that I had seen online. Unfortunately, the jewelry was limited, and I didn’t find anything that inspired me. I am not going to buy jewelry just to buy jewelry. It has to call my name when I see it. But I did find the final piece of Pyrex that I needed to complete my refrigerator set.

DSCN2705My husband asked me what I was going to do with them. I am going to display them on my counter because every time I look at them they make me happy. He seemed a little bothered that I wasn’t going to use them. They make me happy just sitting there. Why would I need to use them? He doesn’t understand, but he doesn’t need to. Am I right? Besides, he got to watch Daytona without being disturbed, and I have new Pyrex. Everyone is happy. This is what 22 years of wedded bliss looks like. I love it here.

I would like to leave you with this video. I saw it on Ace of Spades first, but it made me smile. Who doesn’t love 80’s teen movies?

