Random-Monday-Main-Final1

Happy President’s Day! I gave the kids the day off. We probably shouldn’t take it, but Scott is off. Plus, they really need some sleep.

This makes me think that I should give you a little homeschool tip. There is nothing wrong with taking a day off now and then. The trick is to tell the kids the day before what you are planning to do. If you decide last minute in the morning, every morning your kids are going to hope that you will take the day off. Instead, tell them the night before and stick to your plans. If you tell them that you are going to have a full school day the next day, do it. If it is 8:30 at night and you are tired into the depths of your soul, tell the kids that the next day is a day off, and stick to it. I discovered that the back and forth of my indecisive personality was causing more trouble for me than anything. The kids played my indecisiveness as all kids are wired to do. Making the decision the day before put an end to all that.

It really is true that you learn something new every day. Yesterday I learned that children’s car seats have an expiration date. The experts say that the plastic of the car seat degrades, and you need to replace the car seat every 6 years.  Excuse my cynical nature, but what a load of bunk. Oh, sure. I found a video that shows me what an “old” car seat will do in the event of a crash. I am still not believing it. It seems to me that if car seat manufacturers didn’t put an expiration date on their car seats then we would have fewer car seats floating around out there, and by extension, less money for them. Of course, you are reading the blog of a woman who had no car when her kids were babies, and spent 3 years in taxis with her children on her lap. I don’t remember being nervous about this, but most people in Singapore do not own cars. Many mothers take their new babies home in a taxi. (It could be different now. I don’t know. But I doubt it. Singaporeans just don’t worry the way we do.)

We are exactly 5 months from Scott’s retirement ceremony.

I am exactly one year past the date I flew out to be with my mom. This was the last week of her life that resembled anything close to normal. We talked about her funeral and dying. I didn’t think that the year anniversary was going to hit me as hard as it has. You know how people say that “not a day goes by that I don’t think about them”? It is a real thing. Some days it may be a quick, passing thought and other days I linger on the memories longer, but I still think of her every day.

My kids are still sleeping. I am still drinking coffee. Looks to be a promising day!

