And it seems the health gurus want to turn us into salmon and kale.

I have a horrible headache this morning, so this is going to be short.

I picked up a few new health books at the library the other day.

autoimmune

This one caught my eye because several members of my family have autoimmune diseases. My dad has severe Rheumatoid Arthritis. You know that I already avoid gluten because of a sensitivity. I was interested by the author’s premise. Now that I have skimmed it, I am less impressed. It isn’t a realistic idea for me. She wants you to get rid of ALL grains and legumes, all sugars, all caffeine (probably not a bad idea, but no way), and all toxins (Don’t worry. There is an extensive list. Good luck trying to live in this world.) She has recipes in the book to help you on the way. Some of the recipes look tasty, and I wouldn’t mind trying a couple. However, to eat the way she suggests in this book would be a hardship on my family not only financially but also emotionally. I also don’t believe that getting rid of all grains is a good idea for a growing 13 year old boy. He burns carbs like a Hummer burns gasoline. Finally, I am all about trying to prevent an autoimmune issue for myself. I am not denying that diet would be a good way to start, but I have to be realistic. Salmon for breakfast 3 days a week is not realistic for me.

diet

I am stuck at my current weight. In my late 30’s I slowly gained 10 pounds, and then my body plateaued. I exercise a little bit and am fairly careful about what I eat, and my weight doesn’t change. My mother told me that every decade another 10 pounds climbs on and sticks unless you work at it. I can see that. So I was intrigued when I saw this book. Cut out the sugar and lose 10 pounds in 2 weeks. Who doesn’t like the sound of that? This book spoke to me more than the previous one. No one has to spend a lot of time telling me that sugar is bad for me. I know it is. But the more I read this book, the more depressed I became. JJ also wants me to get rid of grains, roots and fruit. Fruit, people! I know fruit juice is wasted calories, but the fiber in an apple isn’t exactly from the devil. At least she is going to let me keep my coffee, but only as long as I keep it black. Blah. I may as well drink motor oil. Am I right? I can do half and half only, so all is not lost, but plain black? Nope.

She is going to let us eat a few grains like quinoa, wild rice, black beans and lentil. Woo hoo. Quinoa for everyone! I like quinoa in moderation. I also like black beans. Actually, I like almost every food out there. There are very few foods that I don’t like. So my issue is not the foods she is choosing. My issue is the limiting nature of the diet. I just don’t see it as a long term viable option. Again, she also has some recipes that look tasty. I may try some of them.  Of the two books, I think this one is the more realistic of the two.

I understand that sometimes we have to give up foods that we love for our health. I don’t eat a lot of the foods that I love anymore because of my gluten intolerance. I understand sacrifice. Gluten free eating is the easiest when I have no where to go. Who stays home all the time?  I am sure the same is with these diets. When you are by your kitchen all day, you could probably pull this off. Who is by their kitchen all day every day?  Gluten free eating is all or nothing. There is no “well, I just eat a little bit of gluten.” It doesn’t work that way. I am assuming that these diets are the same. All or nothing. What is going to happen in two weeks when I realize that I can’t eat this way for the rest of my life? I need something in between.

More on that later….

