I am a fickle cook. I get bored quickly with recipes and like to try new things. I have mixed feelings about cookbooks. It seems that every celebrity has a cookbook out there whether they are a good cook or not. And don’t even get me started on Pioneer Woman. I usually check cook books out from the library so I can give it a good trial run. Most cook books have a couple of hits, but lots of misses.

Now we have Pinterest, a virtual cookbook. You can find everything on there. However, just like cookbooks there are some wins and some losses. I have been trying many recipes from Pinterest lately. I thought I would share them with you, so you can avoid the pitfalls. Even if it looks really good!

Garlic Parmesan Green Beans by asweetpeachef #Green_Beans #Garlic #asweetpeachef

Garlic Green Beans (click on the picture to take you to the recipe)

This one comes from Sweet Pea Chef. It is a simple recipe that is very good. Unfortunately, you have to dirty two pans to make them. It is worth it. Fresh green beans are the key. If you use rubbery, green beans you will be disappointed.

Next we have cauliflower chowder.

This was a miss. Blah. I have been looking for lower carb recipes for me and my husband. Whoever said that cauliflower could take the place of potatoes was flat out lying. No, just no. I had to add a lot of cheese to the soup to make it edible. Perhaps I did something wrong, but I doubt it. It didn’t taste bad, but it wasn’t hearty or filling.

Next, we have General Tso’s Meatballs. Pin these.

They are a wonderful change from ground beef. My family loves them. Yes, they are bit of a PITA to make, but they are so good. Serve them with roasted spaghetti squash for a nice low-carb meal. I make rice for the kids.

I am getting lazy with the pictures, but I will give you the links. (I am not a super blogger.)

We have a giant fail for the next one. OH, it looks so fun, and I am sure you have seen it pop up in your Pinterest feed.

Waffle Iron Hash Browns. Don’t even bother. What a disappointment. Save yourself the trouble and just buy hash browns. Who thinks up this kind of stuff? How much time do these people have?  Of course, I am the idiot that tried it. Tressa is a sucker.

Finally, this last one has saved me so much time.

How to cook spaghetti squash.

Spaghetti squash is a great alternative to pasta. My husband will never eat it with pasta sauce, but he will eat it with the above meatballs. It is also very good cooked in butter and cheese. Slices the squash in rings makes it cook faster. I don’t care what the strands look like, but 45 minutes is much better than 90 minutes. It is a bit difficult slicing it at the end. Just don’t make your pieces too thin, and you will be Ok.

I will be trying more Pinterest stuff in the future. I will let you know how they turn out!

