Tags

Random-Monday-Main-Final1

Deb, do you mind that I am still using your Random Monday sticky? I am wondering about that.

Today is Columbus Day or if you are in Seattle, Indigenous People’s Day. Seattle makes me shake my head. Whatever you want to call it, I like the day off.

Because we are taking the day off. I was going to have the kids do some school work today, but honestly, who am I kidding? My husband is home, and it is nice to wake up late and drink coffee while I scan the internet.

DSC_0368

This isn’t what I would call a flattering picture of me, but I love it anyway. The kids ran up and grabbed me and gave me an Oreo cookie hug. It was spontaneous. Scott caught it on camera. When they are making me crazy, I will use this picture to remind me that they really do love me.

DSC_0441

And this is the one that I will use to remind myself that they love each other.

Mollie Ziegler Hemmingway writes another post that I heartily agree with, Forget the War on Christmas, The War on Advent is Worse.  

I had already decided that I was going to take Christmas more slowly this year. It usually feels that Christmas is a month long, and by the time I get to Christmas, I don’t want it to be Christmas anymore. The tree comes down the day after, and I want to move on with my normal life. This year, it will be different. I am not going to start making Christmas cookies in November. The family is going to have to wait until Christmas Eve to eat my fudge. I even think that we won’t put up the Christmas tree until mid-December instead of the day after Thanksgiving. We will see. I could get excited and change my mind, which is completely within my rights to do.

I also wanted to mention that I tried the Trim Healthy Mama way of eating for awhile. Anyone else follow that way of eating? I did it for two weeks, and the weight was falling off. But as much as I liked to see the number on the scale fall, I am not sure that I can eat this way long term. For one thing, it is expensive. For another thing, I was eating a lot of dairy. It seems that non-fat greek yogurt is the main source of low fat protein. Dairy is an inflammatory for me. I can eat some dairy, but I can not eat it all day long. Also, there are very few E meals that I want to eat, and I need a few carbs. Oats are the main source of carbs for the E meals. Again, I can eat some oats, but I am sensitive to them, even the gluten free ones.  I found that I was eating S meals for the most part, and then feeling of out of sorts. My friend lost a lot of weight eating this way, and was able to lower some of her diabetes medications. I know it works. I would love to hear from anyone that has made it work for them with a variety of foods. It seems that people who make it work long term, are eating the same things over and over again for the most part. Let me know what works for you.

I hope everyone has a good week. Enjoy your pumpkin spice lattes everyone!

