Random-Monday-Main-Final1

We are entering our 5th week of school. We had a strong first month, and I feel good about it. I made a big change last week. I pulled Freckle Face out of Saxon Alg. 1/2 and put him into Algebra 1. Why? Because after I really looked at the book, I realized that he wasn’t going to learn anything new for weeks and weeks. How annoying! They are the same problems that he did last year; they are only a bit more obnoxious. He is happy. He said he wants it. And if I know anything about my Freckle Face, I know that if he wants something he will work hard for it.

IMG_0405

So what is up with the bag of potatoes? Well, I will tell you. There are a couple of things that I want to point out. First of all the weight. It is 4 pounds. What happened to my 5 pound bag of potatoes? It may seem like a silly gripe, but the price didn’t go down on my potatoes. Just the size. I am now paying more per pound. I think they must think us dumb.  Annoying. Secondly, and this is rather silly, but do they need to tell me that potatoes are 100% Natural and, get this, Gluten Free! Seriously? Like everyone on the planet didn’t already know that. See? This is why we gluten free people get picked on. Since it is now cool to be gluten free, let’s stick it on the potato package!  How about save the ink and give me another pound of potatoes?

I read a lot on The Federalist. A lot. Mollie Ziegler Hemmingway is one of my favorite authors. She writes about a lot of good stuff-sex, food, women’s issues. Stuff like that. She recently took on the Slate article about how cooking for your family is tyranny or some such thing. Her article, 7 Important Things Slate Misses in its Attack on Home Cooked Meals, is great. To make me appreciate her even more, she quoted from Martin Luther.

But instead of looking at it as just a burden, we should look at is a holy blessing. It’s funny to read Martin Luther on this topic because he sounds so modern. He notes that married men might complain, “Alas, must I rock the baby, wash its diapers, make its bed, smell its stench, stay up nights with it, take care of it when it cries, heal its rashes and sores, and on top of that care for my wife, provide for her, labour at my trade, take care of this and take care of that, do this and do that, endure this and endure that, and whatever else of bitterness and drudgery married life involves?” How to view this, he asks? He says to view it as a holy blessing. “I am not worthy to rock the little babe or wash its diapers. or to be entrusted with the care of the child and its mother. How is it that I, without any merit, have come to this distinction of being certain that I am serving thy creature and thy most precious will? O how gladly will I do so, though the duties should be even more insignificant and despised. Neither frost nor heat, neither drudgery nor labour, will distress or dissuade me, for I am certain that it is thus pleasing in thy sight

Go read the whole thing. The entire article is very good.

I have been reading all over Facebook that this year we are in for a doozy of a winter. South Dakota had snow the other day. It was the earliest snow since 1888 or something. I don’t get too excited about long term weather prediction. For one thing, we can’t control the weather. For another they do a pretty lousy job predicting from day to day. However, I do know that if an El Nino is forming in the ocean, we can have a better idea of what our winter will look like. The meteorologists were expecting a strong El Nino this year, but that is looking less likely now. Washington State weather is affected by El Nino, so I used to pay better attention. Now, meh. BUT, it does annoy me to see all the “stock up your pantries!” and “killer winter storms coming this winter” articles on Facebook.  According to the NOAA, we now only have a 65% chance of an El Nino forming, and if it does it will probably be a weak event. So, if you are reading a doom and gloom article from April, you should probably read something a little more current. Facebook is like a breeding ground for misinformed articles of the end of the world type scenarios.

Do I sound cranky? I am not cranky. Really and truly. A few things are just striking a nerve.

Anything strike a nerve for you this week?

