I was sad, just as I know many other were, to hear of the suicide of Robin Williams. So tragic. Depression is a terrible thing to have to fight day after day. It steals all your joy. Even when you know that you should be joyful, you can’t be.

I don’t really want to talk about depression. Others all over Facebook and the internet are talking about it plenty with varying opinions.

All I want to mention is a book that helped me. It is called Telling Yourself the Truth by William Backus and Marie Chapian.

The book is all about changing the way that you talk to yourself. We believe the lies that we tell ourselves. Satan whispers in our ears that we are lost, and we believe him. He tells us that we are alone, and we follow him failing to see those that love us all around. It isn’t that we don’t want to see them, but the lies can blind us. This book is about noticing the patterns in the lies and redirecting our thoughts to the truth. I think about that scene in the movie Pretty Woman, where Richard Gere is telling Julia Roberts that she is a beautiful, smart woman. Julia Roberts says, “The bad stuff is easier to believe.” And so it is with my thoughts.

That is where I found this book to be helpful. I am not saying that this book replaces professional help, but it can be a tool in the arsenal.

