“If I don’t want to do it then I am not going to do it.”

Have you said those words? I know that I have. I try not to say them. I try to do things that I know are important even if I don’t want to do them. It is something that my mom has instilled in me. Most of the time I do not know why I still do these things. Things like volunteering to teach VBS, going to meetings, helping at church, or attending a birthday party for someone that you don’t really want to go to. My mom told me that sometimes we have to do things that we don’t want to do, so I have done them.

My mom died two weeks ago. A few days ago we had her memorial service. It was an amazing service. Not only were the songs and the sermon amazing, but the church was full. It was standing room only for my mom. People that I haven’t seen in years, sometimes more than 20 years, came to my mom’s service. The librarian that my mom talked to when she checked out her books attended. A friend of mine from grade school and her mother attended. I was so moved.

My mom always did things because it was right. I can attest that sometimes she didn’t want to do them, but she did them anyway. And even if she didn’t want to do them, she did them with a cheerful attitude. I usually knew if she was upset with something or didn’t want to do something, but the people that she was doing it for did not. We do, after all, have to have someone to vent to.

I wish she could have seen the difference that she made in people’s lives. I had so many people telling me stories of something wonderful that my mom did. One woman told me that my mom visited her in the hospital. I guess my mom came in and prayed with her. I had no idea that my mom did this, but it meant so much to this woman. Especially since my mom was sick at the time. Another time, my mom was at a mission rally. A pastor had spoken about a new congregation and the struggles it was facing. My mom, MY MOM, stood up and addressed all the ladies. After my mom spoke, they had collected a special offering for the church. The woman who told me this story cried as she told it. She said she would never forget my mom doing that. Missions did hold a special place in my mom’s heart. She tried to get me to be as involved as she was, but I “just didn’t want to do it.”  Even at her memorial my mom made my pastor promise only to talk about Jesus. She wanted people to hear of her Redeemer, not her. He followed her wishes, and many people heard about Jesus.

My mom’s librarian made a point to talk to me and tell me how much she was going to miss chatting with my mom. She always had a smile on her face, she said. It was always a pleasure to see her come into the library. Oh, to remember that even if I don’t always feel like it, I should be friendly. You never know what kind of impact you may have on someone.

Oh, how I wish my mom could have seen and heard the testimonies about her. When she was dying we talked a lot about her service. She said that there would probably be about 80 people there. HAH! She had over 300. People who loved her. The women of the church went above and beyond for her reception because they know how she like to have things look nice. I know that these women did it out of love for her. She had been their friend for years and years. Part of their lives. Sharing church duties together and laughing together.

Oh, that we all would know how are lives impact people. But because we will probably never know, I really feel that we should try to do the things that sometimes we just don’t want to do. It can make an eternal difference.

