Deb told me that she introduced her daughter to zentangles. I had never heard of zentangling or whatever it is called, so I did a quick Google. And in the 3 minutes it took me to learn of zentangles, I decided that I wanted to blow off book work for the rest of the afternoon and doodle with my kids.

We watched a couple of YouTube videos and doodled for a couple of hours.

This is my final project.

20130503-144047.jpg

I am not an artist, so I am pretty pleased. Not too shabby for a first try, if I do say so myself.

My mom has been also looking for something to do. She doesn’t have much energy, and unfortunately, chemo is wreaking havoc on her eyes. I thought this would be perfect for her. I called her and shared this zentangling with her.

Thanks, Deb. It is fun!

UPDATE: I showed my picture to my husband. He said, “Oh, that is nice. Is that like a stencil or something?”

“No,” I said, “I drew this myself.”

“Freehand?”

“YES, freehand.”

“Huh, didn’t know you had it in ya.”

Thanks, babe. I will remember that. (but see? I am not artsy at all.)

