Tags

In the past when I wanted to make Macaroni and Cheese for the kids, I always purchased it in the box. There were two main reasons. 1) I was raised on it and 2) it was easy. The truth is that I never really liked it. I would make it for the family, but I didn’t eat it. Unless I doused it in pepper. Then, maybe.

I suppose I could have just gone on making macaroni and cheese from the boxes since I didn’t eat it anyway, but one day I decided to make my own. Hello, world! Homemade macaroni and cheese is so much better. (You probably already knew this, but don’t burst my bubble. I am still celebrating.)

First of all, you need pasta.

8 oz. of gluten free pasta.

quinoa

This is my favorite pasta. It can handle a  little overcooking which sometimes happens when you have to boil the noodles and then bake them. The trick is to boil them only until they are al dente. No further. Even a little before they reach al dente is ideal. I would not use brown rice noodles for this, but then, I am not a big fan of rice noodles. Unless they are Tinkayada. Those are OK. ANYWAY, boil your noodles and start your white sauce.

white sauce

 

1/4 cup butter. 

1/4 cup gluten free all purpose flour. (I don’t think it matters which kind you use here. I use Bob’s Red Mill, but use your favorite.)

Whisk them together a bit. Gluten free flours need a bit more whisking then their gluten counter-parts. I don’t know why this is. It was something I saw somewhere, and it hasn’t ever failed me. I just whisk a couple of minutes to make sure all the lumps are incorporated.

Add 2 cups of milk all at once.

I don’t know why I don’t have a picture of this, but I am sure that you have made a white sauce before. Let it get warm and thicken.

Add 2 cups of grated cheese.  Pick a cheese, any cheese. I like medium cheddar. Also, grate your own cheese. It takes 2 seconds and tastes so much better.

 Add 1 tsp. salt, 1/2 tsp pepper, and 1 tsp dry mustard.

Add your al dente noodles to the sauce.

And bake at 400 degrees for about 15 minutes.

finished mac and cheese

My family prefers this to the boxed macaroni and cheese. Even though I am the only one who needs to eat gluten free, they even like this kind. It is all in the pasta. Choose a high quality gluten free pasta, and no one will be able to tell the difference. I have brought this recipe to potlucks, and it disappears. No one knows it is gluten free, and I don’t tell them.

Happy cooking!

 

 

