Tags

A chocolate chip cookie to be exact. I don’t make my family chocolate chip cookies anymore unless they are gluten-free. This has caused much weeping at my house. My chocolate chip cookie was my signature cookie. Yes, I will toot my own horn here, but my chocolate chip cookies are very good. I altered the Toll House recipe into a secret Tressa cookie, but it doesn’t matter because I don’t make them much anymore.

I have been on a quest to find a good, gluten-free, chocolate chip cookie. I have purchased entire cook books solely for their cookie recipes. After several attempts, I finally found one worth keeping.

Artisanal Gluten freeCurrently, this is my favorite gluten-free cookbook for baking. The other recipes are fine, but are similar to other cookbooks. The baking recipes, on the other hand, are a different story. I am certain that it comes from their flour blend which I won’t share here, but I urge you to find a copy of the book and try it for yourself.

I love the waffles. They freeze well and are just as good as the Vans waffles you can buy at the store, but I bet they are 100x better for you. They require a bit of work, so I suggest making a large batch and freezing them.

But really, it is all about the chocolate chip cookie. What are those like?

DSC_0550

Remember, I do not like taking pictures of food, but check out that dough. It is firm. Instead of looking like cake batter, it actually resembles a cookie dough. I was feeling good.

DSC_0551

I was able to use a cookie scoop to put the dough on the cookie sheet. I didn’t need to use my fingers to shape it into a cookie. It worked just a like a regular dough.DSC_0555

And look at the finished product! Delicious! I gave one to my husband who asked me, “Are these gluten-free or the good kind?” The good kind being the ones made with wheat flour. I didn’t answer him. He took a bite and said, “Oh, you made me the good kind!” He couldn’t tell the difference. He said that when they were cooler he could tell the cookies were gluten-free, but I don’t believe him. I think he was still trying to convince me to make him “the good kind”, but he had no trouble eating them.

This is a winner. The quality of a cook book is based upon its chocolate chip cookie recipe. This one gets 5 stars.

P.S. The chocolate cake recipe in this book is a pain in the you-know-what to make, but it is worth every bit of the trouble.

