I am sitting at the dentist’s office. He has put free wifi in place since our last visit. I love free wifi! My oldest is having a crown prepped today. 8 years ago he fell off his bike and broke his front tooth. Dentists don’t put crowns on teeth when kids are 10. He had to wait for braces and to finish growing. Now that time is here. He is looking forward to eating a whole apple again.

I am trying to avoid the news as much as possible. I am very sad about the terrible tragedy that happened in Connecticut. What does it say about us when we lock our children in the school and we still can’t keep them safe? My heart keeps coming back to Psalm 130:5. “I wait for the Lord, my soul waits, and in his word do I hope.”

On a lighter note, I made some Christmas cookies this weekend. I wanted to make kiss cookies, the ones which have a Hershey kiss on top. I found a flour less recipe. They were so good, and I was happy.

Since our vacation we have not done much school. I have always had trouble getting school accomplished in December. There is so much going on. So many errands that need to be run. When the kids were little, I would take the whole month off. I am very close to following that tradition again.

Christmas is in one week. One week! My shopping is nearly done. I just need some stocking stuffers. Stocking stuffers. Aren’t they just the worst? Such a waste. Even if you go to The Dollar Store, it gets pricey. I am thinking of filling their stockings with nothing but candy. Would that make me Mom of the Year? In Freckle Face’s eyes maybe. I have to think on it. It could be fun.

And I leave you with another verse that gives me peace this advent season…

When the fullness of time had come, God sent forth His son, born of a woman, born under the law, to redeem those who were under the law that we might receive the adoption as sons.
Galations 4:4-5

Gloria in excelsis Deo!

