I chose to make edible chocolate bowls from Sprinkles Bakes. Whatever you do, do not click on that link. Her bowls are much prettier than mine.

And so we begin. I liked this project because I only needed three items-parchment paper, balloons and chocolate chips.

DSC_0245

Yes, I used the cheap chocolate chips. I didn’t think it would matter. In the end, I think it matters. I wish that I would have bought the Ghirardelli chips. They just taste so much better. Hershey’s are fine for cookies, but if you are going to eat the chocolate plain, spring for the good chips.

The next step is easy. Melt the chocolate in the microwave. I usually microwave for less time than the recipes say. If you stir the chips frequently, the heat spreads, and the chips will melt. It keeps them from getting too hot.

DSC_0247

I didn’t blow the balloons up very much because I didn’t want the bowls to be too large. After carefully wiping the balloons with a dry paper towel, I dipped them right into the bowl of chocolate and set them on the parchment paper. Looking back, I wish that I would have placed them on waxed paper.

DSC_0249

Freckle Face informed me that the pink one was really messy. Maybe I was trying a different technique. Yeah, that is what it was. A new technique.

In the directions I was told to let them sit for 20 minutes. A half hour later the chocolate was still very runny. I was impatient. I threw those babies in the fridge. That may or may not have been a good idea. I don’t know. They set up quickly after that. It was time to remove the balloons from the chocolate. Pictures from Sprinkle Bakes (isn’t that the cutest name for a cooking blog?) show the balloon deflating easily inside the chocolate. This is going to be a piece of cake.

DSC_0251

Or not.

I realized this happened because the chocolate was cold. After I let the chocolate warm up, the balloon pulled away from the chocolate just like the directions said it would.

DSC_0253

Ignore the huge chocolate mess.

DSC_0254

There. That is better. Kind of.

I turned these into tonight’s dessert. I put a little ice cream in them for the kids.

DSC_0268

He is excited. He ended up eating all the ice cream out of it, but left the chocolate. He said that it tasted like a balloon. My daughter ate it all. She liked it. Matthew thought it “tasted fine”.

DSC_0270

This was mine. I had no gluten-free ice cream. Sadness. I have to agree a bit with Freckle Face. I could taste a bit of the balloon. I am not sure how you can avoid that. If I did it again, I would use better quality chocolate and wouldn’t refrigerate the balloons. I am not sure if that was what transferred the plastic taste to the chocolate or not.

Overall, these were very easy to make, and with a bit of practice I could probably make them look very pretty. So even though mine were a bit rough I am going to call it a…

Check out my bloggy friends to see what they were up to this past month.

