I admit it. I have been lazy this month. It took me forever to pick a project, and then I never purchased the items for the project. Now it is Saturday morning,and I am scrambling to post so that I will still have bloggy friends come tomorrow morning.

I was awake at 3:00 am. It came to me that I had made almond pancakes from Pinterest not too long ago. I even have pictures on my iPad which means they are low, low quality. But hey! It is something.

So without further ado, Almond Pancakes.

I was trying to find some very low carb recipes, and these pancakes showed up in my Pinterest stream. I thought they seemed interesting. All I needed to purchase was almond flour. At $8.00 a pound! These better be some good pancakes.

20120929-091201.jpg

And now I see that someone deleted the rest of the pictures! I no longer have the final product. This whole post is a giant fail.

But that is a picture of the pancake batter. I fried them up in a little butter. The pancakes looked like they would be good. They looked (and try to use your best imagination here) like regular pancakes but thinner. I smothered them in butter, put a bit of syrup on them, and cut myself a piece.

Disappointment! They aren’t terrible, but they aren’t close to fluffy, regular pancakes. Now, I have been gluten free for 9 months, and I am used to different foods. I am pretty open-minded when it comes to new foods. These were just too different. They look like pancakes, but they are just too different. They are very grainy even though it isn’t grain in the batter. It is small pieces of almond in the pancake that gives it a grainy texture. While the flavor was good, I couldn’t get past the texture.

On a positive note, if you are looking for a filling low-carb breakfast that isn’t eggs, you may want to give them a try. They were very filling. I ate one and a half pancakes and was fully satisfied to lunch.  I am not going to call this a fail. The pancakes weren’t my thing, but they fit the bill of a low-carb breakfast. I won’t ever make them again because they just weren’t fantastic enough for me to spend the money on almond flour for pancakes. So that means it isn’t exactly a Nailed It either. Maybe we need a “could go either way” button.

Check out my bloggy friends to see what they were up to this past month. Hopefully next month I will be a better participant.

