This morning as we were starting our school work, my oldest son turns to me and says, “You know, Mom, I am kind of enjoying translating the Gospel of Mark from the Latin.”

“That is great!”, I say.

“Yeah, it is so much better than translating all those boring sentences about the Roman army defeating the Gauls over and over again. The same sentences written in a different way.”

“Well, you were translating some of Cicero. That is real Latin.”

(insert disgusted face) ” Bleh, Mom. It was still basically the same. Boring.”

“Sometimes you have to get through the boring and tedious stuff to get to the good stuff.”

“Yeah. And I suppose you are going to tell me there is a life lesson in there somewhere too.”

“No, I wasn’t, but now that you mention it.”

See? They are listening!

