We are starting formal school next week, so this may conclude my summer reading. I will have to read things that pertain to school. Oldest wants to read Shakespeare and my girl has to read ancient literature. She is going to hate it. I hate it, so I don’t blame her much. Haven’t decided what Freckle Face is going to be reading, but I am not worried about that.

It has been a good summer for reading. I got a lot of reading in, and thanks to the post library I was able to read a lot of new books.

The Innocent by David Baldacci. This was my first Baldacci novel. I liked it, but I wouldn’t say that I loved it. My family has a mantra that we say when thrillers try to add a love component. “Always time for love” We say it all the time. There could be giant monsters or a serial killer hot on your trail, but there is always time for that one last, passionate kiss or one night fling. This book had a little of that, and Baldacci showed his cards. I figured it out, but that is OK. It still was an entertaining read.

Some Kind of Fairy Tale by Graham Joyce. I like the idea of fairies. I especially like the idea of fairies when they are not nice people. This was a good story. What would I do if my family did not believe my crazy story? I don’t know. I read this book pretty quickly, so I didn’t digest it very well. I was too anxious to find out how it ended.

The Age of Miracles by Karen Thompson Walker. I gave this one three stars on Goodreads. The premise of the story intrigued me. The world is slowing down. Days are longer and nights are longer. I told myself that I was done with the dystopian genre, but I don’t think this one fit in that genre. It was more of a coming of age novel. I liked Walker’s language. The book was very readable, and I found myself reading sentences more than once because I liked the sound of them. However, I thought the main character was too wise for her age. I think it would have been more believable for me had the main character been a little bit older. Miracles? I couldn’t find any miracles in the book other than the slowing of the earth. Good book. Not great.

The Light Between Oceans by M.L. Stedman. I don’t know how I feel about this book. It is the story of a lighthouse keeper and his wife and a decision they make that changes 4 lives. I am not sure who I am suppose to empathize with. I have read that this book is written as a moral dilemma. I didn’t find any moral dilemma in it. I found a lot of sadness. I learned later that this is an Oprah book choice. I should have known. She has a penchant for picking the depressing.

Slouching Toward Adulthood:Observations from the Not-So-Empty Nest by Sally Koslow. This is not the book you want to read when you have a son heading off to college in a year. It was OK. As I read it, I discovered that I was not the target audience. She was writing more for the Baby Boomer crowd who have children in their twenties. I am a Generation X’er. Trapped between two major generations. My experience as a parent has not been the same. I hope that my children don’t come back to live with me after they graduate from college, but I know that it is becoming more normal. I hope that I am not raising children as selfish as the ones she portrayed in her book. It is the economy, right?

I am currently reading A Game of Thrones.  I like epic fantasy. Well, usually for the first three books anyway, then I get tired of it. I wanted to see what the hype was about so my husband bought this for me for my birthday. I like it so far. I have all the characters straight now, so it is easier going. It has a 4.42 out of 5 rating on Goodreads. (I love Goodreads) I am anxious to see if I will rate it as high. It is still early yet.

I also have to read A Midsummer Night’s Dream. I read it in high school, but I don’t remember it very well. I may grab the Cliff Notes. I also have to skim the The Illiad since that is what my daughter is starting with. I might not make her read the whole thing. Oh, save me from Homer. Thank goodness I saved all my notes from three years ago when my oldest went through it.

Goodbye, summer reading! You were wonderful company.

