Growing up I sang many old hymns. My church used an old hymnal with the old language. I know that the old hymns are being used less and less in churches, put aside for more contemporary songs that are familiar to a lot of people. Even though the newer songs are catchy, I still prefer my old hymns.

One of my favorites is “How Firm A Foundation, Ye Saints of the Lord”. I have much of the hymn memorized. And while it isn’t Scripture, it is an easy way for me to remember the truths of Scripture especially when my heart hurts.

How firm a foundation, Ye saints of the Lord,
Is laid for your faith in His excellent Word!
what more can He say than to you He hath said
Who unto the Savior for refuge have fled?

In every condition-in sickness, in health,
In poverty’s vale, or abounding in wealth,
At home and abroad, on the land, on the sea-
The Lord the Almighty, thy strength e’er shall be.

“Fear not, I am with thee, oh, be not dismayed;
For I am thy God and will still give thee aid;
I’ll strengthen thee, help thee, and cause thee to stand,
Upheld by my righteous, omnipotent hand.

“When through the deep waters I call thee to go,
The rivers of sorrow will not overflow;
For I will be with thee thy troubles to bless
And sanctify to thee they deepest distress.

“When through fiery trials thy pathway shall lie,
My grace all-sufficient shall be thy supply.
The flames shall not hurt thee; I only design
Thy cross to consume and thy gold to refine.

