We traveled this weekend to visit some friends. We haven’t seen these friends in 11 years. The last time I saw them Freckle Face was 3 months old. It didn’t matter. We picked up as if it had only been a few months since we saw them last. I love that.

They have chickens. Oh my! Do the chickens ever crack me up! They are hilarious. My husband has decided that he wants to have chickens some day. I don’t know. We will see. I would love the eggs. (I was sent home with four dozen free range eggs. Awesome!) I am just not sure I want to deal with crowing roosters and chicken mess, but they are entertaining to watch.

They also have guns. I have wanted to learn to shoot for a long time. I think that shooting is something that everyone should do at least once in a safe environment. I think that I should know how to shoot. At least give it a try anyway. When I mentioned that I had never shot a gun, my friends decided that it was time to remedy that  flaw in my character. haha!

And it now has been remedied. I have a picture, but I am not sure that I want to post it here or not. It is quite funny. The look on my face is priceless. I was terrified to pull the trigger. I know that a person should have a lot of respect for a firearm. I have that in spades. The first time I just didn’t know what to expect. What would it do? I knew it would go bang, but other than that I was clueless. My friends were very patient with me and encouraged me. They didn’t rush me. Just gave me time to figure out if I was going to pull the trigger. I did. I screamed. But I did it! I told them I was good. I fulfilled my goal of firing a gun. I didn’t need to fire any more. “Oh, no!” they said. “That whole clip is for you!” Oh boy.

I managed to fire off a few more rounds. It was tough for me. I don’t like the way it feels. They tell me that it would get better after I practiced more. I am not sure that I believe them.  I also shot a small shot-gun. That one was a little more my speed. It was a small gauge shot-gun and had no kick back. That was perfect for me. Now that I think about it, I only fired off one round and was good. But if I ever have to live in the wild hills of Montana or something, I know that I could fire off a round for my protection. Maybe. Well, I don’t know. Probably not.

My oldest also was able to fire off a couple of clips. It surprised me that it didn’t make him nervous at all. He did very well and hit the target several times. He was relaxed and calm. I was proud of him. Freckle Face was very disappointed because I didn’t let him shoot. He decided that he was going to join the Army so that he could shoot without me around. Whatever. “Go ahead,” I told him.

I like new experiences, especially the ones that let you check off a box on your to-do list.

 

