Clark Kent recently called me to ask me if I would be willing to sit down with him and discuss my new gluten free diet. I said of course! I would love it! Who wouldn’t want to sit down with Superman ahem..Clark Kent? The following is a transcript of our discussion. If you subscribe to the Daily Planet, you can read it there.

CK: Why did you decide to start this diet?
Me: Well, Clark, can I call you Clark? I have had a lot of joint pain in the past and have tried several doctors to give me some explanation for the pain. Instead of explanations, I got painkillers. Horrible painkillers that made me feel like garbage. I have a life to live, Clark. I have to drive. I just feel like I am too young and, while I do have pain, not enough pain to call for such drastic solutions when they couldn’t even tell me why I have it in the first place.

CK: I see. So you just came up with the gluten free thing out of the blue?
Me: Oh, no. My sister has been doing it for 4 years. Bless her heart. She has been trying to convince me for 3. I guess sometimes it just takes me a little longer. I would like to say it is because I am smarter, but if you met my sister, you would know that I am lying.

CK: How is it going then? Tell me how you feel.
Me: I would love to be able to tell you that I don’t feel any different. I would love to say that I have seen any noticable change. But the truth is, Clark, I do. I feel a lot better. The pain in my hips is gone. The pain that was making my life miserable is gone. I sleep all the way through the night. I wake up in the morning feeling like I have had a full night’s rest. That hasn’t happened in a very long time. I have a lot more energy. I don’t know if that is from the sleep or from removing the gluten, but it doesn’t really matter. I have more energy. I need it, so I am not going to kick a gift horse in the mouth, ya know? I have heard some say that the everything seems more clear for them when they remove gluten. I haven’t felt that way, but I do feel better. I think it affects everyone differently.

CK: Ok. You feel better. I get it. But how do you know that it is the gluten and not just the extra strong coffee that you have been brewing lately?
Me: Fair question. My husband was hoping at first that it was the extra strong coffee because I make mean chocolate chip cookies. But, he has noticed it too. The truth was made apparent when I had some hip pain the other night. I thought that the pain was from the stress that had been brought on that day and dismissed it. However, later the next day as I was grocery shopping I noticed that Cambell’s Tomato Soup has wheat in it. Wheat! Why tomato soup needs wheat is beyond me, but there it was. I had eaten tomato soup for lunch the day I had the pain. A lot of it. It hit me fast. Last night? No pain. And believe me, my stress level has not dropped. I think that finally convinced my husband. I was already convinced, but sometimes the ones you love need a little more proof.

CK: Why do you think you developed this sensitivity?
Me: That’s the million dollar question, isn’t it? I have no idea. I was raised on Wonder Bread, but other than that, we ate very little junk in our house. Oh, we had cookies in the cookie jar. Always homemade. At dinner and lunch we always had fruits and vegetables. My parents kept a large garden before it was considered “green”. My grandfather gardenend all year long and, we were always eating some green from his garden. I was a pretty healthy kid. It frustrates me that I have to eat like this now, but what do I do?

CK: Why does it frustrate you?
Me: Have you tried gluten free brownies, Clark?

CK: Uh, no.
Me: Oh, it isn’t all bad. I have found some pretty good substitues thanks to my sister. I probably should just eat more fruits and vegetables and real food rather than try to find a substitute for my favorites. But I think it will be a good thing to have some things to eat. I needed something the other day. I had a brownie mix. The batter was fabulous. Oh, don’t look at me that way, Clark, batter isn’t evil. The baked product was just OK. I figure I will just focus more on the batter. Then it isn’t so disappointing.

CK:What are your favorite products?
Me: Udi’s bread is the best. Trader Joe’s brown rice pasta is also very good. Those are the two that I can think of off the top of my head. I will have to start keeping a running list to share here in case anyone (cough, cough. Deb) wants to try this kind of diet. Maybe that will be helpful.

CK: This has been very interesting. Thanks for sharing. Will you update us in another month or so and let us know how it is going for you?
Me: Sure! This has been fun. Can I just get a picture with you before you leave? Clark? Clark? Where did you go?

