The piano and I have been better friends lately. Earlier this year I didn’t have much time to play. As the school year wound down to a close, I found myself sitting at the piano more. As my students mastered their recital pieces, it encouraged me to work a little harder. In fact, one of my young students worked so hard on one particular song that she memorized it. She inspired me. I have mentioned before that it is very difficult for me to memorize music, but I decided that I was going to memorize something. I picked “River Flows in You” by Yiruma.

I love this song. It quiets me. And as someone with some anxiety issues, that is a good thing. I have it about half way memorized. The plan is to have it memorized by Christmas. It sure feels good to be on friendly terms with the piano again.

