• The smile on my daughter’s face when the organ begins to play A Mighty Fortress is Our God, her favorite hymn.
  • The determination of Freckle Face as he runs towards the high jump bar.
  • Watching my oldest talk to the girl that I know he has a crush on. (even though he has never told me)
  • Watching my husband put on his dress blues. He looks so fine in his dress blues.
  • A clean kitchen that was not cleaned by me.
  • Knowing that I am going to have coffee with a friend.
  • Chatting on the phone with my sister.
  • Sitting on my parent’s porch in the summer and having coffee with my mom.
  • My dad’s laugh.
  • Remembering the first time my oldest came across the word “paradigm” and how he pronounced it.
  • The sunshine.
  • The hug my husband gives me after he realizes that I am baking him something chocolatey.
  • Watching a movie with my husband in the VIP theater.
  • Listening to my kids play the piano.
  • The snow-capped Olympic mountains against a bright, blue sky.
  • The Gospel of John.
  • Freckle Face telling me that he is low on hug power and hugging me tightly.
  • Watching my daughter chat with her friends on the computer. She giggles and laughs to herself.
  • A rainbow. I still stop for rainbows.
  • Reading a book that has Latin in it and knowing what it says.
  • Summer vacation
  • Getting picked on by my oldest. He can be quite funny sometimes.
  • Christmas
  • Bacon
  • An empty laundry basket
  • Good news. Good news always makes me smile.
