I have put my heart into schooling my kids. I am giving them a very solid education. They are doing better quality work than they would be doing in public school. If my son’s PSAT score is any indication, he will probably do pretty well on the SAT. And you know what? There is still no way that he can pay for the college that he wants to go to, and we can’t afford to pay for it either.

So, we have sacrificed to give him a better education, and it doesn’t change anything in the long run. That is what makes me mad.

Another note, the school he wants to go to isn’t that expensive for a private college. He will probably earn half of his tuition in scholarships, but it won’t be enough. What is even more frustrating is that the state schools in Washington are getting so expensive that it would probably end up costing the same to send him to a state school because there won’t be any scholarships available for him. This ticks me off. Not the scholarships part, the expensive tuition for a state school part.

What makes me even more mad is that I don’t fully believe that it is worth it. Oh, yeah, yeah, everyone needs college blah, blah, blah. I heard the mantra over 20 years ago when I was in high school. For some things, I agree, but not everything. I just think if the government wasn’t funding all these stupid loans, then maybe the colleges wouldn’t be able to raise their tuition rates because very few would be able to afford it. But the government offers all this money at a low rate than you can pay over 20 years. What 18 year old understands the concept of 20 years? They haven’t even been alive that long yet! How many can look past 20 days? Let’s be real here. We were all 18 once.

I feel better now. Not a lot, but  a little. If this doesn’t make sense, I apologize. I wrote it for me mostly anyway.

