I have managed to get in a little more reading than usual. That is a good thing. I am always happier when I read.

My Antonia by Willa Cather. My husband suggested that I read this one. I am not sure how I managed to graduate from high school without reading this one. I loved this book. The characters were real to me. I plan on placing this book on the reading list for my Book Club class at co-op next year. I think it could appeal to them. Maybe. The story of a young immigrant girl becoming a young women narrated by an orphan boy becoming a man. Timeless.

My mom was reading this book for her book club. My local library has a gazillion copies of it because it is considered a “local book”. I decided to go ahead and read it because everyone is talking about it. I have to say that I liked it. I read it in a couple of days. It is a good story. It is the story of children, one Chinese and one Japanese, during World War II in Seattle. The ending was wrapped up in a neat, tidy bow, but I liked it anyway. True love and friendship spans several years. It was good for the romantic in me.

Magic Hour by Kristen Hannah. She is another local author that writes stories that take place in Western Washington. I enjoy reading them becuase I am familiar with the landscape. I have read several of Hannah’s books, but this one wasn’t one of my favorites. However, I did enjoy it and it made a good relax in the sunshine and read book. It is the story of a very young wild girl that wanders out of the forest and the psychiatrist that saves her while falling in love with her at the same time. There was also a little sister rivalry thrown in for good measure.

Oh. My. Goodness.  I had picked this book up two times at the library before bringing it home. I couldn’t put this book down. Hillenbrand is a very good storyteller. She captured me from the first chapter. This is the story of a famous runner turned AAF pilot turned Japanese POW.  I will never again believe that people are not shark food regardless of what the Discovery Channel says. I did get three quarters of the way through the book and then had to read the ending. I just couldn’t deal with anymore sadness of the POW camps. If you are up for it, I recommend this book.

