This past week we had an old friend visit us from across the country.  We were stationed at the same base as her parents 10 years ago. That, my friends, was the last time that I had seen her. She and my oldest son have rekindled their friendship thanks to Facebook, and her parents called me a few weeks back and asked if she could come for a visit. Sure! How fun! I recognized her right away when she stepped off the escalator. She was a charming guest, and we had a lovely visit.

The first day, we went to the park. The sun was actually shining! It was a little on the cold side, but that didn’t stop us. Because the kids are very familiar with this park, I don’t hover. They are free to run around and go wherever they want to go. I follow at a safe distance behind trying to capture something special with my camera.

It has been a wet spring, unfortunately. The paths at the park were quite muddy, and it goes without saying that the kids would want to travel the wettest and muddiest trails. I followed along grumbling about the mud and gooshy grass. I came across a very muddy section and frustrated I yelled for the kids. “Hey, you guys! Why are you going this way?” No answer. “Hello, people! It is muddy this way! Let’s go another way!” Finally, I hear the Sophomore yell back, “Mom, it is fine! There is a bridge.”

How did I miss that? Silly me.

