This week we are taking a break. I am telling everyone that it is our spring break, but truthfully, I needed a mental health break. Judging from the kids’ attitudes this week, I think they needed a break too.

During this week I am planning on doing a little paper work. I need to work on the transcript and do a little mapping of the classes for next year. I am going to have two high schooler’s next year! Don’t worry. I have reservations on the crazy train.

This brings me to science. I don’t know what to do for my soon to be Junior. I asked him  last week what kind of science he would like to do next year since we have checked off both the Biology and Chemistry boxes. His reply? “Anything but Apologia. And I don’t want to talk about school.”

I have blogged before about Apologia. I, personally, don’t have a problem with Apologia. It gets the job done. It seems to work very well for my daughter, but the style irritates my son to no end. So where do I go? I am not having much luck finding what I want. He doesn’t have to have another lab science, but I think labs make science more interesting. He doesn’t even know what science he wants to learn. He recently took an Introduction to Engineering course from an engineer home school dad which sparked an interest in Civil Engineering. I could take that and run with it if I had any idea where to go.

Maybe I am missing something? I am even reconsidering my decision to send him to the community college next year. He doesn’t seem thrilled about that either. Is he excited about anything, you ask? I don’t know. Oh wait. Yes, he is excited to drive. And writing. He loves writing. Neither of those help me with my science conundrum.

If anyone out there has any ideas, I would love to hear them. My first choice is to keep him home one more year. Ok… I just asked him, right now as I type this, what he wants to do next year. Organic Chemistry. Heaven help me. Where did that come from? Why did I ask him anyway?

