I haven’t written much about reading lately (let’s ignore the fact that I am just starting to write again).  I am still reading, but not as much for enjoyment as I would like. I spend a lot of my time reading books that I am forcing my kids to read. I have managed to squeeze a couple in. Let’s discuss.

If you have never read anything by C.S. Lewis, you are missing out. He was a genius. He usually isn’t meant to be read in one sitting even if you can. You need to pause, reflect, and digest his writing. However, this book, “Letters to Children”, can be read in one sitting. The book is exactly what the title says, letters to children. Lewis was very good about replying to letters that people wrote to him. His Narnia books were popular in his time and children wanted to know more about them. This book is a compilation of some of those letters. It won’t take you but 2 hours to read this book. If you haven’t read any other Lewis, don’t read this one first. You need to read the Narnia books before you read it or you will have no idea what he is talking about in the letters. In the book, he encourages kids to continue with their Latin studies because Latin is so important. I liked that part of the book.

This book I picked up three times at the library before actually bringing it home. If you aren’t up for a depressing read, don’t read this one. I am not sure how I made it all the way through. Never mind. I wanted to know how it ended. The setting is World War II in Paris. All the Jews are being rounded up. I did not know that this ever happened. I do like it when historical fiction teaches me about an event that I didn’t know about. It was just so incredibly sad. Everything about this time period is sad, but this book broke my heart.

I am not going to lie. I picked this book up because I am a Susan Wise Bauer groupie. She posted on her blog one day about what she had been reading, and when I saw this one at the library I picked it up. She liked this one. I

thought it was Ok. I usually like stories about small towns where everyone is connected. Maybe it was because I was trying to read it at Christmas time? I don’t know. It just didn’t grab me the way “Sarah’s Key” did. You may like it. I seem to be in the minority. It has 4 stars at Amazon. You could read this in an afternoon if you wanted to.

Have I told you about these? I can’t remember, and I am too lazy to go back and check. This is the third and final book of the series. It starts with “The Hunger Games”. The first book of the series is by far the best one, but I have read all three in order to find out what happens. I am starting to see a pattern here. Anyway, I can’t tell you much about this one if you haven’t read the others. This wraps up the series. I am not a big fan of stories that end, but then tell you about how the characters are doing in an epilogue. That is just a personal preference of mine. I would rather see the story wrap up with a nice, tidy bow at the end. It always feels to me that the author couldn’t quite figure out how to get it all in, so she just makes one last chapter to finish it all up. This book wasn’t believable for me. Now, if you have read the series you would know that none of them are believable. This one doesn’t fit with the unbelieveablity (is that a word?) of the other two. Does that make sense? I still liked it. I would give it 3 stars.

This is actually and essay that has been prinited into a book. If you choose to read any of the books that I have just listed, read this one. It won’t take long and it is informative. He doesn’t pick on anyone specific. He picks on them all, ande he lets you know the way of things. He makes a great case. I like that he doesn’t just whine about a problem. (This is not an Ann Coulter style of book. He says what needs to be done. I agree with him. Unfortunately, what needs to be done is hard, and I don’t see it happening any time soon. He talks about homeschoolers (hooray for homeschooling!) and how we are some of the first revolutionaries, going against the grain, bucking the system. It was all positive. Read it for that if for nothing else.

In my book bag, I have A Reliable Wife by Robert Goolrick which is another book I pulled off Susan Wise Bauer’s blog. I also have “The Little Stranger” by Sarah Waters. I am not sure which one  to read first. I could just go for some mindless reading and grab the new Jayne Ann Krentz novel “In Too Deep”.  I usually like her Arcane Society novels. They are fast reads with your typical girl needs help-finds boy plot. However, last time I tried to read one, I couldn’t finish it. We will see. I will let you know next month.

