How does that sound to you? A deep-fried Twinkie? Can you even legally make such a thing?

Of course you can! At the fair anything is possible!

We decided that we would buy 1 of the golden cakes of goodness and share it.  Honestly, I thought it looked a little bit on the disgusting side. The swirl of chocolate they drizzled over it didn’t add to its aesthetic appeal.My arteries were screaming just looking at the thing.  But we paid $5 it, so I was going to try it.

Oh, yes. I said $5. How in the name of all that is good can they charge $5 for one Twinkie? I can buy a box and 5 gallons of oil for that price. Yeah, yeah, I know. The fair and frugal are not synonymous terms. But still. $5?

Ok. I will move past the price. I am going to give the deep-fried Twinkie 2 out of 5 stars. I liked the fact that the filling was warm and gooey, but that is about it. We all know that Twinkies just aren’t what they used to be, but deep-frying them makes you long for the 70’s even more. I think sticking the Twinkie in the microwave would give me the same warm, gooey filling without the nasty grease filled yellow cake.

Don’t even get me started on the deep-fried, bacon-wrapped jalepeno.  Gross! Or the bacon covered maple bar they had at church on Sunday. Double gross!

Now that I have upset your stomach. I will leave you with something a little more eye appealing.

Best in show in the Dahlia category. Interesting, isn’t it? Not what I picture a Dahlia to be, but it is beautiful in its own unique way.

