I am going to try to make this as succinct as possible. Freckle Face had a quick, and I mean quick, visit with the orthopedic surgeon today.  It was a fine visit after I overcame my irritation of waiting 50 minutes in the little, white room on an uncomfortable chair. It was our first visit with a surgeon or any surgeon, for that matter.

He was friendly enough. He gave a quick look at Freckle Face’s feet, had Freckle Face walk up and down the hallway a couple of times, and said, “Yep, it is time to do heel cord lengthening.” He gave me the run down. I only had one problem. He wants to make two cuts in his tendon, one down near the heel and one in the middle of his calf muscle. I was expecting the lower cut near the heel, but not the middle cut. I must have asked him three times what that procedure was called, and I still don’t remember the name of it. Oh, well. I suppose it isn’t all that important.

Next he asked me how my schedule looked for the middle of August. I know that surgeons are busy so I hadn’t anticipated that early of a date. I told him that we were really hoping for an early fall surgery. “Even better”, he says. Lots of people are trying to get theirs in before school starts. (Chalk one up for homeschooling.)

The details…

  • Both feet are going to be done at the same time.
  • Both legs would need  lengthening.
  • It is done on an outpatient basis.
  • 6 weeks with walking casts on.
  • 6-12 months before he would regain all of his strength back. Probably closer to the 6 months rather than the 12 months.
  • We will have to be vigilant with stretching because there is the possibility that it would have to be done again when he is between 14-15.
  • He will be physically unable to get on his toes after the surgery. He will have to reprogram his body to walk properly.
  • I am thinking about getting a second opinion just because I can.

It really is time to get this done. The good thing about the stretching after the surgery is that it won’t hurt for him to stretch anymore. Stretching right now is painful, so getting him to do a good stretch is difficult. I can not physically stretch him now, but I will be able to after the surgery.

I always have a tendency to get a little spun up the day of a big appointment. I know that I will feel better about the whole thing tomorrow. It really is a minor surgery. I wish it felt that way.

 You know, when I watch TV and fictional characters are getting a consult, the doctor sits behind a desk and the patients get to sit in comfy chairs. Why doesn’t that happen in real life? It sure would be a lot more comfortable.

