I hope that everyone had a nice Thanksgiving. We did. I ate entirely too much food which, I suppose, is the whole point of Thanksgiving. Well, unless you want to be thankful and remember all of God’s goodness which, I agree, is the main point of Thanksgiving.

Anyway, however you want to view Thanksgiving I still ate too much food.

We had my husband’s mother here for Thanksgiving. It was nice to have both my parents and his mother here for the day. Since my mother-in-law lives on the other side of the country, it is a big deal when we are all together.

I did feel a little bad for Freckle Face and My Girl because they had to share the piano bench at the table.  They complained a little, but they got over it soon enough once we were passing around the food.

I don’t make anything fancy. I have  the most boring Thanksgiving dinner in the US, and the family likes it that way. I make turkey, dressing, mashed potatoes, corn, rolls, cranberry sauce, and jello. Sometimes we have sweet potatoes, but that is only if we happen to have company that will help me eat them. I don’t make green bean casserole, and I aplogize if I offend, but cream of mushroom soup and green beans just shouldn’t be combined. Gives me shivers just thinking about it.

I went Black Friday shopping with my mother-in-law. We had a good time. I managed to get a few good deals. For a change, we went to Fred Meyer first. We don’t go for the 1/2 price socks that everyone else seems to want, so I didn’t have to crawl over anyone. What is it with those 1/2 price socks? People seem to love that deal. We hit JcPenney’s later, that had them 60% off. So Fred Meyer wasn’t the better deal, but people still go there for the socks anyway. FM was giving out free coffee and donuts. They do score a 10 for hospitality. I love Black Friday shopping. It makes  me feel all Christmasy.

Tree is up. My house has vomited Christmas, and I love it. It makes me feel all warm and happy inside. It almost makes all the homeschooling that we need to do bearable.  But just almost.

Yesterday was also the first Sunday in Advent. Come Thou Long Expected Jesus.

