I am sorry that I have not been posting. I took a picture the other day that pretty much sums up how I have been feeling.

PA300025

Yes, I have been entirely gastropodish. Isn’t that an awesome word? Gastropod. If you say it to your 8 year old son he will think of something entirely different than the yellow-green slimy thing pictured above and he will laugh hysterically. I am not sure if that is a banana slug. I thought banana slugs had black spots, but I am surely not a gastropod expert. I may have no idea what I am talking about at all.

 I do know that my dad used to pay me a penny for every black one that I killed. I would slice them in half with a shovel and watch their guts run out. And look how “green” my dad was! No chemicals for my dad. Just give the kids a shovel and send them off to work. Ah, the more memorable days of my childhood. (Dad, I think you still owe me a couple of bucks, by the way) You don’t want the black ones anyway. They eat your garden. I never did pour salt on them. It just seemed like an awful way to perish even  for a gastropod. (Man, I am just loving that word!)

So, that is how I have felt about blogging lately. I really do want to write more. I just needed a little break.

And now, for the real mom confession of the week ….

I let my kids gorge themselves on their halloween candy. They eat until it is gone and I don’t have to worry about it anymore. I tried the rationing bit. You know, the “just two pieces a day” plan. But then, I had to listen to them asking me every 10 minutes if they could have “just one more piece of candy”. So, problem solved. Eat the candy. Get it out of my house. When it is gone. It is gone.

One week is all it took, and now I don’t have to worry about candy again until Christmas.

