I just finished up the menu for the next two weeks. It is one of my least favorite chores. I wish that it didn’t save me so much time because then I could really put it off and not bother with it. However, it is a life saver. It is so nice to know what I am going to do with whatever piece of meat that I happen to have in the freezer.

The problem is that I really have to be economical. Somehow, no matter how careful I am, my grocery bill is just too high. It really bothers me how much we spend on groceries. It doesn’t bother my husband, but it just seems crazy how much we have to spend to keep us fed.

I like to keep the majority of our dinners under the $15 range.  I mentally calculate the cost of the meal as we are sitting at the table eating it.  I am especially excited when I get it under $10. I thought that might be good blog fodder. You know, good food for less money. It isn’t fancy food that is for sure, but my family eats it and is sastified. For a couple of hours at least.

On the menu-

Pulled pork sandwhiches w/ ? not sure yet

Roast turkey or chicken in the crockpot

Turkey/chicken pot pie (leftovers) with a salad

Honey dijon chicken

Beef tenderloin (got this on the extreme sale rack for $4)

Taco soup-made in the crock pot. This is my favorite pantry meal.

Lasagne- may take this to my dad’s for this birthday

Cranberry pork roast– another crock pot recipe. Love to make this in the fall.The meat is the most expensive part of the meal. I serve with mashed potatoes and a veggie.

Chicken patties from the freezer case- this is my I-don’t-feel-like-cooking meal

Homemade pizza– I can make two pizzas for the price of one pizza from Papa Murphy’s.

Baked Salmon -my most expensive menu item.

Clam chowder with homemade bread. -I haven’t made this before, but it too is going in the crockpot. Not sure how this much this one is going to cost me.

Brats or Cheddar Dogs (as my kids call them)- another I-don’t-feel-like-cooking menu item.

So, there it is. Nothing fancy. It may change if I find some really good deals on meat. I will be adding up the cost later if anyone is interested.

