saturday-mom-confessions

On Thursday, Freckle Face came home from school and immediately pulled off his shoes.

“Ugh. My feet hurt bad today,” he said.

He yanked his socks off and he had a HUGE blister on his big toe. Huge. It was larger than his toe nail on the end of his toe.

I immediately called his physical therapist because I freak out when I see blisters, red spots or anything unusual on his feet. They were able to see him on Friday. They get nervous at the same things that I do.

So, we trek to the physical therapist. I brought my hubby along because I am just tired of the nonsense.

This time, however, there wasn’t any nonsense. Just a simple solution. The huge blister on his toe was caused by his shoes. His shoes. Shoes that were too small. Yes, over a size too small.  

I felt awful.  He had squeezed his little toes into shoes that were hurting his feet, and I didn’t know it. Why didn’t he tell me that his feet were all squooshed into his shoes?  I don’t buy him shoes on a regular basis. He gets new ones from the physical therapist when we switch orthotics. Come to think of it, I don’t even think I know what size he is. Isn’t that special? I think that may disqualify me from the Mother of the Year contest.

He is in new ones now. He said they feel much better but  are a bit big. I think anything will feel too big after what he was squishing his feet into.  He is going to be getting a new pair. We just have to wait for them to come in. See? I don’t even think much about it.

Yeah. Mother of the Year. That is me.

