Part of our daily routine involves the SAT question of the day. The college board makes a practice question available every day. Some days it is a math question and some days it is an English question. The freshman and I sit down at the breakfast table with my cool lap top that my even cooler brother-in-law gave me and take the question together.

The other morning it happened to be a math question. It went something like this,  “Today is Tuesday 4:00 am. What day and time will it be in 253 hours?” More or less that is what the question was. I worked it out and answered the question. *ding ding* I got it right. The freshman worked it out and, *ding ding*, he also got it right.

Then we always talk about how each of us came up with our answer. I went first. I said that I divided 253 by 24 and then added the remainder to the number of days or some such thing. (It doesn’t matter now. I did get the question right.)

He says to me, “Oh, I suppose you could do it that way. I didn’t. See. I know there are about 170 hours in a week, so I took that and subtracted….” then I heard “blah, blah, blah, blah” because I kept going back to the  “170 hours in a week.” How did he know that?

So, I asked him. “How did you know that there are 170 hours in a week?” I was thinking it must be the Saxon Math or something. It is always teaching weird little bits of information like that.

“Oh,” he says without missing a beat, “from Dilbert.”

“From Dilbert? As in the comic character Dilbert?”

“Yeah.”

I had to laugh. I mean, how can you not? From Dilbert. Of course. Why didn’t I think of that? That should have been the first thing I thought of when I saw that math question. Oh, 170 hours in a week. Doesn’t everyone know that? Wow. How to address this?

“You know. I am glad that you are learning something from all those hours you have spent reading Dilbert. But, in the future, I would stick to the mathematical formulas and facts that you know are true.”

“Oh, I knew that it was true.”

“Ok. Whatever.  But, just in case you happen to read a comic strip that isn’t as trustworthy, (oh, my goodness, am I really saying this? Outloud?) please don’t use comics as your source of information in the future.”

“Sure, mom.”

And that, my friends, is what makes homeschooling fun.

Edited very late at night  to add: I was lying in bed just now thinking about this blog post. I did the math in my head and realized that there are only 168 hours in a week. So. See? We can’t trust comic books. I rest my case. You better believe I will bringing this up tomorrow. How in the world he got the right answer I don’t know. Sometimes he is just like that.  Homeschooling is still fun. Sometimes you just gotta shake your head and move on.

