Does that make you think of the Wicked Witch of the East? That is about how I feel right now.

It is flippin’ hot. I really try not to use foul language, but when you wake up at 7 AM and it is already 81 degrees in your house there is cause for foul language. We are on day 3 of extreme temperatures, and I am not sure I am going to cope.

Yesterday we went to the lake. It was a lot of fun. I met some friends there, and the kids swam and swam. I even let my oldest swim out into the deep regions at the dock where I noticed him flipping off the dock. That made my heart skip a few times. I asked him nicely not to do it anymore because I am a weak natured mother, but he didn’t listen to me. My hubby said, “Good for him.”  I am so feeling the love.

 I noticed this morning that I may be getting a tan. I don’t tan usually. Maybe these freaking hot days are good for something.  Tan cellulite is so much nicer than white cellulite. Don’t you think?

Last night it was so hot in my room that I slept with a wet towel as a blanket. Aren’t you just wishing that you were here? I knew that you were. I can’t decide if the house stays cooler with the window open or closed. My big, hairy Toby kitty is getting pretty cranky. If I didn’t live next to such a busy street I would let him out to find some shade. You know it is hot when you put a wet washcloth on your cat’s back and he leaves it there.

Yep, I am doing the ice in front of the fan trick. It does help a little bit. But, when your house hits 90 degrees, there just isn’t a lot that can be done. I really want a room air conditioner, but I am not going to find one now.

Ok, this sounds like a lot of complaining. Maybe it is. We Western Washingtonians love to complain about extreme temperatures. We are weather weenies. We like the moderate temperatures. We love to talk about the heat, just like we loved to talk about the 2 feet of snow that we got last winter. We don’t complain about the rain like the non-locals. We expect the rain. We deal with the rain. We really do have webbed feet.

In about 4 days life will be back to normal. At least, I hope so. If not, I am sure that you will get to hear about it. Aren’t you lucky?

