saturday-mom-confessions

VBS is over.  Thank heaven above.

It isn’t that I don’t like VBS. I do. Well, kinda, and that is my confession. I am happy that VBS is over and don’t have to think about it for another year!

 This year was a little more difficult than normal. I walked around with the 3rd and 4th graders.  All 29 of them.

Walked around? Yeah, now-a-days the kids don’t sit in a class room and quietly listen to the story. They traipse around the church and go to different stations like Bible Challenge, Story Time, Invent a Snack, and a couple of others. The idea is nice, but moving 30 eight and nine year olds every 20 minutes is not my idea of fun. Raise your hand if it is yours. Anyone? Anyone? Bueller?

That is what I thought.

To make matters worse, I couldn’t remember all the kids’ names. This is a first for me. This year I was completely dependent on the sticky name tags that we made them wear. Usually I have their names down by the third day at the very latest. This year it was Friday and I was still asking them their names. Poor kids. They were so disgusted with me. It was mostly the boys too. I just couldn’t get it.

I just wish that I was a little more enthusiastic about the whole VBS thing. It was a nice VBS, but this year, I just couldn’t get my game face on. I am not sure what my problem was. I told my friend to make me sign up early next year so I get my choice of job.

I am glad that we were able to share the Gospel with so many kids. I know that it makes a difference. We have one very involved member that came back to church as an adult to have her children baptized because they were sick. She came back to church because she had gone to VBS at our church when she was little. So, it matters. Maybe someday one of those little boys that were so frustrated with me will come back because of the message he heard this week. That is what I have to remember. God’s Word works in mysterious ways.

