I have been reading a litt more than usual lately. I used to be a BIG reader. As in I could polish off a book in a day. Every day. But, that was when my kids were little, I could stay up past 10 without feeling like a zombie the next day, and I didn’t have a cable internet connection so the internet wasn’t quite as inviting.

I do love to hear what others are reading. It gives me ideas. That way I can go into the library with purpose. Don’t be shy to say that you are reading the latest Nora Roberts or the latest Janet Evanovich. This is summer time. We are supposed to be reading light and trashy, right?

I will go first.

The Guersney Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society    (Mary Ann Sheffer)- I picked this one up because the of the title. If an author can come up with a title like that, it has to be pretty good.  It was. It was written entirely of letters which made the book a quick read. I enjoyed the characters even if though I didn’t get to know them quite as well as I would have liked.  The book touched my heart, but WWII novels have that effect on me. It is worth a read.

The Last Patriot   (Brad Thor)- Don’t ask me why I picked this one up. It is kind of a boy book and really reminds me of a “Da Vinci Code” type book. I did finish the book, but I can’t tell you how it gets its title. I must have missed something. Can’t say I enjoyed it, and will not pick up another by this author. Each to his own.

Cold Hands, Warm Heart (Jeff King)- I picked this one up because my grandmother always said those words to me. (I have cold hands.) I knew nothing of the book and just dropped it into by bag. My Alaskan friends probably know the name, but I didn’t. Jeff King is an Iditerod champion, and this book is his story. I haven’t finished it yet, but I am enjoying it. I don’t know much about the Iditerod, so it is all new to me.

The Secret (Beverly Lewis)- I usually enjoy Lewis’ books. She gives me this happy, unrealistic little glimpse into the Amish world.  This book is a little more sad. I am only half way through the book and it is sad and confusing. Not sure how I feel about that. I pick up her books for a lite hearted read. If I wanted sad and confusing I would pick up an Oprah selection.

The Sugar Queen (Sarah Addison Allen)- cute, predictable, and sweet. Just like the title. If you are looking for a a book for the beach, this is it. Nothing heavy or sad about this one.

On deck is The 8th Confession by James Patterson.

Your turn. 🙂

