Last summer it was decided that all three of my children would attend private school. I  thought that it would be good for me, and to some extent them but mostly me. I had all these big dreams about what I was going to do this past school year. I was going to get my house organized, make cookies, exercise, volunteer (a little!), and maybe even do a little crafting.

hahahahahaha!!

That never happened. Most of it is my own fault. I over committed myself. Some of the things that I did to myself turned out to be fun. I enjoyed working in Freckle Face’s classroom. I love his teacher, and it was nice to see how he did in school. I started teaching a little piano. It is just one family, and that was fun. It still is. I volunteered at a relief organization. That was fun for awhile, and then it became a burden. I took piano lessons. That was a lot of fun until I lost my practice time.

Anyway, this was not to turn into a woe is me post. This is the final week of school (we ha!), and I am finally getting the week I always wanted.  I have no obligations. I am just a mom getting a needed break.

I decided that I would start with a load of laundry.  I figured  since we were all scrounging for socks this morning that might be a good place to start.

Laundry. Check.

Then, I decided that I would get on the treadmill. That is a necessity. I went shopping for clothes this weekend with my girl. It would have been a lot more fun if I was shopping because I dropped a size and not the other way around. I tried very hard not to be jealous of the fact that everything my daughter tried on fit her just fine. And to top it off looked very cute on her. Nope. Not jealous. Not one bit.

Exercised. Check.

Now, this poor, neglected blog. Blogging is fun. If I am honest with myself, I like the feeling that I get when I know that people are reading it. A suppose a little narcissism never hurt anyone. And just to make myself feel even better, I would put money down that I am not the only one on that planet that feels that way. We are being honest here, right? 

Updated the blog. Check.

Well, now that the washing machine has stopped, I should switch it out, or we will still be scrounging for socks in the morning. I also have a little piano practice to catch up on. Even though I am not taking lessons anymore, I still need to practice. I also have an IEW video I need to watch. A friend loaned it to me. I need to decide it that is what I want to use for next year. I can watch that and fold laundry at the same time. A little planning for next year’s school year wouldn’t hurt any either. 

Oh, and just a little plug for my friend, Donna Young. She saved me hours on science planning. I just printed off her schedules for Freshman’s (holy cow! I am going to have a freshman next year! *panic attack*) Biology course. Donna, you rock!

Yes, I am very much going to enjoy this week. It is the week that I have wanted all year long. I am going to savor it, revel in it, drink several Diet Pepsi’s, and pretend that it was the year that I had all along.

