Why is it you run into someone that you haven’t seen in three years when you didn’t  brush your hair before you left and you  have a big zit on your face? Just wondering. Because seriously, this always happens to me!

I am not kidding. I am pretty good about making sure that I look presentable before I leave the house. This has been engraved upon my brain by my mother. (I am not saying that it is a bad thing, Mom!) I am not saying that I have to look like I am going to a party every time I leave the house, but I try to make sure that my clothes match and there is no food in my teeth. I still feel awful about going to the hospital when I was in labor with Freckle Face in ugly nursing pants and one of my husband’s old T-shirts. I am sure not one single person cared what I looked like, either.

But sometimes, I just don’t feel like it. I say to myself, “oh, I am just going to run into the library real fast. I am not going to know anyone there.” OR “It is just the commissary. I am grocery shopping for heaven’s sake.” Inevitably those are the times I run into someone I haven’t seen in years. I am not saying that it happens every time I go out with messy hair.  Meeting long lost friends just happens to coincide on those days.

I guess it is just one of those laws that I am never going to understand. I am going to have to make peace with it. Zits and all.

