I have made known that our oldest is going to be homeschooled high school. I love getting the reactions from my homeschooling  friends. They are just as supportive now as they were when I told them that I was putting them in school. Sometimes I think that must drive them absolutely crazy with my back and forth nonsense.  They put up with me, though, and I love them for that.

My husband and I really thought that we wanted to homeschool high school, but it seemed like such an overwhelming task. I hear that homeschoolers get into college, but I was convinced that if I homeschooled my son I would ruin him forever. I am just very unsure of myself and need a lot of reassurance. I found Lee Binz, The HomeScholar, one night while I was searching the internet. I stayed up late into the night reading her blog and other articles that she has on her website. And she is in Washington!

My husband and I were able to set up an appointment with her for her high school crash course. Talk about hand holding! It was just what I needed to push me across the threshold of the final decision. I am not going to ruin my son. He is going to be able to go to college. I can make a transcript just like the public high school down the street. She answered all my questions about SAT, ACT, CLEP, AP, and PSAT testing. She helped me set up a plan for the next four years. It was wonderful. I still need to put it together, but the backbone is there. It was definitely three hours well spent.

The best part? My husband and I left the meeting as a team. We discussed what we were going to do together and with a feeling that this is attainable. Of course, I already knew that from friends that have been there-done that, but I needed someone to tell me how to do it for my child. That is what Lee did for me.

Even today I still feel 100% better about all of this. Maybe now I can get past all of this waffling and be commited to our decision without hesitation. With God’s help, I am in it for the long haul. It is going to be a wild ride.

