There is no way I am going to get my recital piece memorized in time. None. Nada. It ain’t gonna happen, folks.

I didn’t sit down at the piano much last week. In fact, very little. I went to my lesson today and told her as much. She knew of my tooth situation. I told her that pain killers + piano doesn’t not work. She laughed. I guess it is a little funny, but only because I am not in much pain anymore. So, I told her that I just didn’t think that Mozart was going to work out for me. I told her that I was all right with that. I don’t need to play in the recital. It is all good.

She says, “Oh, we can just pick another song.”

I am sorry. No. No. NO! That is not what I meant. I tried to explain to her that I am just not going to get any song memorized in 2 months to play at a recital. I just don’t have it in me. It is laziness, pure and simple. Well, that, and I haven’t memorized a piece since like 3rd grade or something. That piece was called “Cat and Mouse”, by the way. Anyway, just like the mall situation I didn’t get through to her. I am still working on this darn piece. I don’t like it much. That may be part of the problem, but I already have quite a few hours in it (not counting this past week). I don’t want to start over with another piece.

Stop reading now if you don’t want to listen to me whine because I am going to whine. I just want to play piano well. I want to play Jim Brickman without having to work at it. I want to play Chopin someday. Maybe I need to take some time off and just play for fun. I haven’t just played for fun in awhile. I have been taking lessons a year now. Crazy, huh? I think that I am better. I have learned a lot. Would it be arrogant to say that I want to be able to say, “Yes, I am good.” when someone asks me if I am good? That is what I want. Right now I say that I am all right. When do you get to say that you are good? Just wondering.

