piano

My piano. Have I shown you my piano before? Well, it is a Kawai digital piano. I would love to have a nice acoustic piano someday, but until I know for absolutely sure that we are not moving anymore I will love my digital. I have had this one since Jan. 1, 1999. I have had it almost 10 years! Holy Moly!

I had lessons today. I can officially put Clementi to rest. Mozart is on his way in. After the Christmas recital, that is. I don’t really remember telling her that I would actually play in the recital. I said, “That might be fun.” I am pretty sure that I was just being polite, but I find myself with 3 weeks to master Chris Rice’s version of Angels We Have Heard on High. I guess next time I need to be less ambiguous.

Have I mentioned how much I loathe Czerny’s technique exercises? Really loathe. Give me Hanon every day of the week over this stuff. I can see how they are beneficial, but that doesn’t mean that I have to like them. Because I don’t.

I do, however, love the piano. And The Messiah. Oh, I love The Messiah! My hubby is going to take me to the symphony so that I can hear The Messiah. Ah, I love him. I have been preparing myself by listening to it on CD. I have the kids singing “Unto Us a Child is Born” all day long. Isn’t it great? That is their favorite part. Freckle Face is in the back of the car saying, “Turn it up, Mom!” I am happy to oblige. So, if you are waiting at a stoplight next to a car that is blaring The Messiah. That would be us. Don’t mind us.

