Lutheran Lucciola  had this on her blog, and I thought it was fun. Having grown up in the West but then living in the Midwest and Florida (that doesn’t count as the South), I wanted to see what kind of accent I had.

What American accent do you have?

Your Result: North Central
 

“North Central” is what professional linguists call the Minnesota accent. If you saw “Fargo” you probably didn’t think the characters sounded very out of the ordinary. Outsiders probably mistake you for a Canadian a lot.

The West
 
The Midland
 
Boston
 
The Inland North
 
Philadelphia
 
The South
 
The Northeast
 
What American accent do you have?
Quiz Created on GoToQuiz

 

So, it looks like North Central. Hmm. I don’t think that I sound Canadian. I really don’t sound like the people on the movie Fargo. I don’t think I have any accent at all really. If you heard me you wouldn’t know where I have hailed from. I know that I don’t talk like those Northeasterners. (Hi family that lives in the Northeast!) I like to tease my husband sometimes. He has lost most of his accent, but every now and then I catch him and make sure to point it out. That is my job don’tcha know. He did get me to start saying “soda” over “pop” though. Asking someone “Hey, do you want a pop?” sounds silly to me now. Now it sounds like I am asking them if I can hit them. Doesn’t work for me. However, he doesn’t say “carriage” for “shopping cart” anymore. I fixed that one. hee hee.

So, what do you say pocket book or purse? Shopping cart or carriage? Soda or pop? Aunt (as in ant) or Aunt (as is Awnt)? Garage sale or tag sale?

You know, enquiring minds and all that.

