I know, I know. I have blogged about this before, but it bears repeating. I am working on Invention No. 8 now, and I love it as much as I loved No. 1. I have also worked ahead to Invention 13 thanks to Dutchgirl’s suggestion. That one is very cool, but I can’t work on it too much because I am supposed to be working on 8. There is just something about the Inventions that I love. Of course, I haven’t worked on much of anything else, so I may have to downgrade my love to a like if Bach’s works get harder. So, I am not setting my feelings in stone or anything. Just throwing them out there as the mood strikes me.

My teacher pulled out some Chopin yesterday. She was trying to teach me the importance of keeping my fingers curled on the black keys. It is a bad habit of mine to make my fingers a little flat on the black keys. Anyway, I nearly had a panic attack when she opened up to some piece that had 6 flats. I told her as much and she laughed. I think that she thought I was kidding. I wasn’t kidding. She played a bit of it for me. She told me that we would get to that eventually. Hopefully not too soon because I will have to learn to regulate breathing before then.

So, I am still loving the piano lessons. I have all of one line memorized of the piece that I am supposed to be memorizing for church. I think she is realizing that if I am going to play it before the year 2010, she is going to have to let the memorization bit slide. Thank goodness for small mercies.

